An insulation piercing connector must match two cables, not just one. A request for an IPC for a 95 mm² LV aerial bundled cable is incomplete if it does not identify the branch conductor, conductor materials, insulation, connection type and installation requirements. Several connectors may accept the main conductor, while only a smaller group can accommodate the complete main-and-branch cable pair.
This guide provides a practical selection process for LV network engineers, aerial bundled cable contractors and electrical distributors. It explains how to define the connection, read main and branch conductor ranges, check aluminum and copper compatibility, account for installation conditions and prepare a quotation request that a supplier can review without guessing.
An IPC selection does not replace network design or utility approval. The responsible engineer must define the circuit, design current, cable system, work method and applicable standard. The supplier can then screen products against those declared requirements.
Start by Defining the Connection
Before comparing conductor ranges, determine what the connector must do. The same main cable may need a different connector for a small street-lighting branch, a building service, a larger ABC branch or a non-tension main-to-main connection.
Main-to-Branch Connection
This is the familiar LV ABC tap arrangement. The main conductor continues through one channel, while a smaller or equal-sized branch conductor enters the other. The selection must cover the actual main and branch cross-sections at the same time. It must also support the stated conductor-material combination and cable insulation.
Main-to-Main Non-Tension Connection
Some IPC models are intended for equal or similar conductor ranges and may be specified for non-tension main-to-main connections. This application must be stated in the product documentation or approved project drawing. An IPC should not be treated as the hardware that carries the mechanical tension of an ABC span.
Service and Street-Lighting Tap
These applications often pair a relatively large ABC main with a small branch cable. The branch range becomes the limiting parameter. A connector that accepts a 95 mm² main but starts at a 25 mm² branch cannot be used for a 6 mm² lighting cable simply because its main range is correct.
Aluminum-to-Copper Connection
Do not assume that every insulation piercing connector accepts an aluminum main and a copper branch. The exact model should identify the conductor combinations it supports. If the catalog only states a broad term such as “bimetallic,” ask the supplier to confirm the main conductor, branch conductor and cable construction covered by that designation.
Understand the IPC Components That Affect Selection
An IPC generally uses separate channels for the main and branch cables. As the specified bolt or torque nut is tightened, piercing contacts pass through the cable insulation and establish contact with the conductors. The housing and sealing parts protect the connection as part of the tested product design.

| IPC component | Why it matters during selection |
|---|---|
| Main conductor channel | Must accommodate the main conductor cross-section and its insulated diameter. |
| Branch conductor channel | Has its own cross-section range and may be designed for a smaller cable. |
| Piercing contacts | Must be approved for the specified conductor materials and cable construction. |
| Insulated housing | Must meet the project voltage and environmental requirements for the intended application. |
| Sealing gasket | Protects the pierced area as part of the connector’s tested sealing system. |
| Branch end cap | Closes the branch entry where the selected connector design requires one. |
| Torque or shear-head bolt | Defines the tightening method, socket requirement and installation endpoint. |
| Single- or double-bolt body | Affects product dimensions, tooling and the model-specific installation procedure. |
L&R Electric’s published IPC page identifies an insulating shell, piercing blade, waterproof rubber pad and torque bolt as key parts of its product structure. These are useful screening features, but the complete model still has to be checked against the cable pair and project specification.
Collect the Main Cable Data
Begin with the complete main cable designation rather than a visual estimate. Record the conductor cross-section in mm², conductor material, stranded construction, insulation material and relevant insulated diameter. Include the system voltage and the cable standard or utility specification.
The main cable information should also show whether the conductor remains continuous through the connector. If the project requires a main-to-main joint, replacement connection or prepared cable end, identify that arrangement separately. A connector intended for an uncut main-to-branch tap is not automatically approved for every other connection form.
Collect the Branch Cable Data
The branch cable needs the same level of detail. State its conductor cross-section, aluminum or copper material, cable construction, insulation and intended circuit. For service and lighting applications, include the project design current or the approved branch-cable selection so the engineer can confirm that the overall circuit remains properly designed.
Clarify whether the branch conductor enters the connector with intact insulation, is bare or requires preparation under a particular product design. Do not strip a cable merely because another connector family uses a prepared branch. The cable-preparation method must follow the instructions for the exact product.
Why Cross-Section Is Not the Whole Cable Specification
Two cables with the same conductor cross-section can have different insulation thicknesses and outside diameters. Their conductor materials or strand constructions may also differ. A catalog range expressed only in mm² is therefore the first filter, not final proof of compatibility. When the cable type is unfamiliar, send its datasheet or a dimensional drawing with the inquiry.
Use a Seven-Step IPC Selection Process
Step 1: Confirm the Application
Classify the connection as main-to-branch, non-tension main-to-main, service tap, street-lighting tap or another utility-approved arrangement. If the connection must support mechanical span tension, stop and identify the correct tension hardware instead of assigning that duty to the IPC.
Step 2: Match the Main Conductor Range
Locate the actual main conductor cross-section in the model’s published main range. Do not use the branch range for this check. Note whether the limits are inclusive and whether the table applies to the same conductor material and cable family used by the project.
Step 3: Match the Branch Conductor Range
Repeat the process using the branch column of the same model. Both conditions must be satisfied simultaneously. A wider maximum range is not automatically better: the connector must also close and pierce correctly at the actual minimum cable size.
Step 4: Confirm the Conductor-Material Combination
Identify whether the connection is aluminum-to-aluminum, aluminum-to-copper, copper-to-copper or another approved combination. Ask for model-specific confirmation. The material of the piercing contact is relevant, but it should not be used alone to infer compatibility for the entire connector.
Step 5: Confirm Cable and Insulation Compatibility
Check the ABC cable construction, insulation material, insulation thickness and insulated conductor diameter. Determine whether the connector pierces both cables or uses a different arrangement on one side. The manufacturer should identify the cables for which the product has been designed and tested.
Step 6: Check the Governing Standard
Use the standard named by the utility, tender or project specification. Depending on the market, an LV ABC project may reference EN 50483-4, ANSI C119.5, NFC 33-020 or a utility-specific standard. These are not interchangeable labels, and their current applicable editions should be stated in the inquiry.
Step 7: Check Installation Requirements
Confirm the number of bolts, shear-head or torque system, socket size, cable-entry arrangement, end caps, permitted installation temperature and product-specific work instructions. State whether the planned work is de-energized, energized but off-load, or performed under another approved utility procedure.
An insulated connector body does not authorize live work. Only trained and authorized personnel may perform electrical line work, following the utility procedure, local safety requirements and instructions for the exact connector.
Read the Main and Branch Range Table Correctly
| Example range | Main cable | Branch cable | Selection meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Large main, small tap | 25–95 mm² | 2.5–25 mm² | Useful as a candidate for a service or lighting branch when all other requirements match. |
| Medium main and branch | 35–95 mm² | 25–95 mm² | Accommodates a larger branch but does not cover small service conductors. |
| Equal large ranges | 95–240 mm² | 95–240 mm² | May be a candidate for a large equal-range connection if the application is explicitly approved. |
These examples show why the two columns cannot be combined or reversed. They also show why stocking only the connector with the largest published range is not a sound distributor strategy. Small branch conductors, specific cable diameters and different connection types may require separate models.
Check Aluminum and Copper Compatibility
Aluminum-to-copper transitions need an explicit product basis. Ask the supplier to confirm the main conductor material, branch conductor material, contact system and applicable cable combinations. If the connector page lists Al/Cu or bimetallic contact options, determine whether this describes alternative contact materials, a tested aluminum-to-copper connection or both.
Also confirm whether the branch must remain insulated. A connector designed to pierce insulated conductors on both sides should not be assumed to accept a bare or pre-stripped conductor. Special service connectors may support different arrangements, but that suitability must appear in the product documentation or project approval.
Account for Installation and Site Conditions
Single- and Double-Bolt Connectors
The bolt count is part of the model design, not an installation preference to change in the field. Double-bolt IPCs may appear in larger equal-range models, while many service-tap connectors use one bolt. Follow the specified tightening sequence and endpoint for the selected model.

Cable Condition
Inspect the proposed connection location under the applicable work procedure. Cracked, badly weathered, contaminated or mechanically damaged insulation may require an engineering decision rather than routine IPC installation. Do not position a new connector over a previous piercing location unless the cable owner and product instructions explicitly permit it.
Environmental Exposure
Identify coastal salt, industrial pollution, high UV, humidity and the project temperature range. Request product evidence that corresponds to the required environment. A general statement such as waterproof or corrosion-resistant is less useful than a model-specific test reference and defined test condition.
Reuse and Replacement
Do not assume a connector can be removed, repositioned or reused after its shear head has operated. For replacement work, send the old model number, conductor markings, photographs and dimensions. Ask the manufacturer whether the old product has a current equivalent and how the previously pierced cable location should be treated.
Verify Standards and Product Evidence
A standards claim should be traceable to the connector model and the cable combinations used during testing. Request the product datasheet, main-and-branch compatibility matrix, dimensional drawing, installation instructions and the applicable test-report reference.
Depending on the governing specification, evaluation may include electrical ageing, temperature rise, mechanical performance, water tightness, shear-head operation, corrosion, environmental ageing and permanent marking. The required evidence should come from the project specification rather than a generic internet checklist.
L&R’s product page publishes references to GB2314-1997, GB/T2317-2000, GB/T13140-1998 and GB/T5169.4 for stated performance categories. A buyer requiring EN, ANSI, NFC or utility approval should request the corresponding evidence for the exact offered model instead of treating the page as a blanket certification for every series.
Screen L&R IPC Models by Cable Pair
L&R Electric publishes TTD, IPC, CT, JBC and LR insulation piercing connector series. The following examples from the official table can be used for initial screening.
| Published model | Main conductor range | Branch conductor range | Published bolt count |
|---|---|---|---|
| TTD121F | 25–95 mm² | 2.5–25 mm² | 1 |
| TTD201F | 35–95 mm² | 25–95 mm² | 1 |
| TTD281F | 50–185 mm² | 6–35 mm² | 1 |
| TTD451F | 95–240 mm² | 95–240 mm² | 2 |
| CT-1 | 6–95 mm² | 1.5–6 mm² | Not stated in the published CT table |
| CT-3 | 6–150 mm² | 4–35 mm² | Not stated in the published CT table |
| JBC-1 | 35–70 mm² | 6–35 mm² | 1 |
| JBC-2 | 35–150 mm² | 35–150 mm² | 1 |
| JBC50-240 | 50–240 mm² | 50–240 mm² | 2 |
This table is not a final model recommendation. Verify conductor materials, insulation, voltage, application, standard and installation requirements before ordering. The IPC3.1 branch range and TTD151F branch notation on the current website are unclear, so they have not been used here.
For a broader view of related products, buyers can review L&R’s insulation piercing connector and LV fittings ranges.
Common IPC Selection Mistakes
- Providing only the main cable size and asking the supplier to infer the branch.
- Reading the branch range as if it were the main range.
- Assuming the widest catalog range is the best choice for every cable pair.
- Assuming every IPC accepts both aluminum and copper conductors.
- Ignoring cable insulation material, thickness and outside diameter.
- Using an electrical tap connector as mechanical tension hardware.
- Treating an insulated housing as automatic authorization for live work.
- Reusing or relocating a connector without model-specific permission.
- Accepting a standards claim without checking the model and tested cable combination.
- Ordering a replacement from appearance alone without recording the old markings and cable data.
RFQ Checklist for an LV ABC Insulation Piercing Connector
| RFQ field | Information to provide |
|---|---|
| Connection type | Main-to-branch, non-tension main-to-main, service or street-lighting tap |
| Main cable | Cross-section, conductor material, construction, insulation and cable standard |
| Branch cable | Cross-section, conductor material, construction, insulation and intended circuit |
| Network | System voltage, design requirement and utility or project specification |
| Installation | Approved work condition, tooling requirements and site access constraints |
| Environment | Temperature, UV, coastal, industrial or humidity exposure |
| Documents | Required datasheet, drawing, instructions and test evidence |
| Commercial details | Quantity, destination, marking, packaging and requested delivery schedule |
| Replacement order | Existing model, markings, photographs, dimensions and cable information |
Frequently Asked Questions
What is an insulation piercing connector used for in an LV ABC network?
It creates an electrical connection involving insulated conductors without conventional insulation stripping at the piercing side. Common applications include main-to-branch service connections, street-lighting taps and specified non-tension connections.
How do I match the main and branch conductor ranges?
Check the main cable against the model’s main range and the branch cable against its branch range. Both actual cross-sections must fall within their respective ranges on the same model.
Can one IPC connect aluminum and copper conductors?
Only when the specific connector is approved for the stated aluminum and copper combination. Confirm the main material, branch material, cable construction and model documentation.
Does the cable insulation need to be removed?
An IPC is designed to pierce insulation on the side or sides specified by its design. Do not strip or otherwise prepare either cable unless the instructions for the exact connector require it.
Can an IPC be used for a main-to-main connection?
Some models are designed for non-tension main-to-main use. Confirm the product application, both conductor ranges and the approved construction drawing before selection.
Is an IPC a tension-bearing connector?
It should not be assumed to carry the mechanical tension of an aerial span. ABC span tension is handled by the specified anchoring clamp, while an approved suspension clamp supports the cable at intermediate points.
Does every IPC use a shear-head bolt?
No. Torque and bolt arrangements vary by series. Check the number of bolts, head design, required tool and installation endpoint for the selected model.
Can an IPC be installed on an energized line?
That decision depends on the specific product authorization, network operating condition, utility work procedure, local regulation and qualified crew. An insulated body alone is not permission for energized work.
Can an IPC be reused after installation?
Do not assume it can be reused. Ask the manufacturer about the exact model and follow the cable owner’s procedure for any previously pierced location.
What information should be sent with an IPC inquiry?
Send the main and branch cable data, conductor materials, insulation information, application, voltage, standard, work condition, environment, quantity and required documents. Include a cable datasheet or existing-product photograph when available.
Request an IPC Model Review
Prepare the main cable size and material, branch cable size and material, cable insulation details, connection type, network requirements, applicable standard and order quantity. Submit them to request an IPC model review and ask for an itemized recommendation with the relevant product documentation.
This article is a product-selection and procurement guide. It does not replace network engineering, electrical safety procedures, utility approval or the installation instructions supplied with the selected connector.